It’s Days Like These…

20140731-225423.jpg
… that I wish I had one of those pretty lives that appear so frequently on Instagram.

You know, the ones where everyone is happy and smiling and hugging each other and just generally experiencing the joy of living?

On many days, I experience moments as described above.

Today was not one of those days. Today was ripped straight out of Days Of Our Lives. Like sands through the hourglass – drama, action, suspense, betrayal… that saw me self medicating at 5pm with a glass of wine and a cold-pak on my forehead and some deep-breathing. Neurotic much? 😉

I was also chatting with friends about whether I’d made any forays into the dating scene, given last week’s inspired blog post about getting my life in order. Sadly, I don’t move that fast… I’m good, but I’m not that good 😛

It did set me to wondering about what it would be like for someone to date ME though (ex’s reading this post need not comment – haha)… so I looked up ‘dating a Capricorn woman’ in Google. This is what I found:

“Deep inside, she is romantic and loving but it takes the right man to expose this. On the outside, she may seem like she does not care much for love. The Capricorn woman is perfect for the man who likes a challenge. It will take time to get closer to her, never make her rush into a relationship. Be patient because she is. Capricorn woman is very classy, upscale woman. You have to woo her and court her like a lady. Shower her with nice gifts (but not too expensive, she is a very conservative spender and expects you to be also). She will dominate and control the relationship but in her intriguing subtle way, let her take the lead, she won’t steer you wrong! She will lead the relationship in the right direction because she is smart and practical. She will offer you a long lasting, real, loyal relationship with all the right ingredients for happiness.”

So, as it turns out, dating me would be the best thing any man could do because I’m apparently perfect. Haha. Until I got to the ‘Flaws’ bit:

“Capricorns are very ambitious people, they always have something they are pursuing and they want their lives to be fulfilled and important. Capricorns have a very active mind and strong powers of concentration. Capricorns like being in control of their surroundings and everyone in their life. Capricorns are very cautious but this only to survey the situation before leaping in, they will never make a hasty jump in. They accept change but introduce it slowly so they can get used to it and incorporate it into their life. Capricorns tend to see life in black or white, definitive’s only. There are no gray areas for these are areas that are not understood and this makes Capricorn feel uncomfortable. They tend to be in control in a romantic relationship – that way they are never vulnerable to another person.”

So I’m an overly-cautious control freak who doesn’t take chances and is awake 24/7 because I need my life to feel fulfilled and meaningful. Slightly less appealing. Lol

One might wonder in all of this how I’m finding time to do architecture work. The answer is…. I’m not. I’m somewhat trapped in a stressful personal matter (the cause of today’s minor meltdown) and I’m not inspired, focused or interested and I’m procrastinating. And I don’t procrastinate. Ever. I’m thinking I need a trip to GOMA or the State Library to snap me out of this funk I’m in.

Or alternatively just a mental kick up the backside.

One hugely positive thing this week is that I somehow managed to motivate a fellow student into being excited about architecture again and helped him to envision a kick-arse model that will knock his tutor’s socks off. Funny how that one thing can make me feel useful and wipe out some of the negatives 🙂

Xx

I love feedback so you know what to do...

