There Is A First Time For Everything!!

I want to post this because it is the first time in 2 and a half years of study that I have received written feedback on an assessment item. I’m so stunned that I can hardly believe it. Not once have I received a single word of feedback… What I was doing right, what I was doing wrong, how to improve… Nothing. Nada.

And the feedback is incredibly positive, which makes (some of) the hard work worth it!

This is the piece it is in relation to (not a standard architecture project – which was nice… got to work with my hands and complex materials and ideas in a more sculptural way):

https://littlemisscuriousdoesarchitecture.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/architectural-typology-abstracted/

And this was the feedback:

“Firstly, I really appreciate the empathic and honest way that you approached this project. There is a sincerity in your work that is very evident.

Further, the actual act in sourcing your materials actualises the point you are trying to make, which in itself is a powerful gesture.

Usually I would suggest a less conversationalist writing style, but in this case it works because you are tapping into the empathy behind the slums rather than a strictly rational approach. This sort of writing takes courage and I commend you for it.

Your poem is also moving.

I would usually comment about not engaging with any referenced work, but the artist statement is of the quality that I would see no need to comment on this level. Well done.”

I love feedback so you know what to do...

