Oh, There’s That Bright Side Everyone Talks About…

20140407-215647.jpg

I’m 99% sure this is what my students have been thinking about me the last few weeks… especially when I’ve been crazy trying to get my own assessments done and hating on the entire tertiary education system (read: institution)

And especially when I tell them that they’ll probably need a new tutor because probably the workload will kill me. Said with a laugh but I can see some of them wondering if I’m serious and if they really want to study design when the outcome seems to be certain death.

OK, so I exaggerate but the truth is, there’s always a bright shiny spark in amongst the chaos.

Today one of my students sought me out for advice on her project (due tomorrow) for another design subject. It made me feel as though what little I’ve learnt in life is valuable and if it helps her become a better designer, then I couldn’t be happier. I love how engaged and animated she was talking about her project and how unafraid she was to ask questions about things that I have long since taken for granted as things I just ‘know’… Things that become second nature as a designer you forget that once, you didn’t know how to do those things either.

And she even arrived with a fresh coffee for me (grande!!) and you can’t ask for more than that! It was absolutely appreciated and helped me through my 12 hours of classes today. This small snippet of interaction was enough of a boost to make me remember that somewhere deep down, the bright-eyed, eager student is still inside me. Sometimes you can’t see the forest for the trees but today inspired me to try to move past my frustrations and remember why I love designing.

If I hadn’t had the opportunity to teach this semester, I would have thrown in the towel with my studies I think, such is the frustration… but these young people inspire me and my interaction with them gives me back something I thought I’d lost 🙂

Xx

I love feedback so you know what to do...

