Sometimes I Wish I Was 5 Again…

When I was little, anything could be fixed with jelly beans or a lolly pop. Needle at the doctor? Lolly pop. Horrible-tasting medicine for a cold? Jelly bean chaser. Left out in the school playground? A hug and more jelly beans. Life was simple. Life was good.

I wish I could be there again. Go back to when life was simple and problems were curable by candy.

I need to put a disclaimer in here; usually it drives me nuts when people carry on about their problems with no thought to anyone else or the bigger picture.

I want to say up front that I know, in the grand scheme of things, me losing faith in myself and my abilities isn’t a big deal. Compared to global warming, poverty, wars, injustices of all kinds, this isn’t even a blip on the radar. But I am concerned about what I find myself going through and I thought talking about it might help. I also operate on the basis that unless you are feeling strong and stable, you can’t help others.

I have a lot on my mind at the moment, some of it dark, some of it confusing but mostly just causing a severe undercurrent of stress that alas probably won’t respond to or be eliminated by sugar.

What I want to know is how other people deal with a crisis of confidence? When you don’t feel smart enough, talented enough, creative enough. When you wake up in the morning with a heavy heart and a racing mind. When daily frustrations seem blown out of proportion to the extent that you can’t see the forest for the trees.

How do you get re-inspired? No negative comments please.

Xx

8 thoughts on “Sometimes I Wish I Was 5 Again…

  1. Simplify it. Acknowledge the thought, dismiss it and move on. Everyone has days like these, but you have to keep powering ahead, or else, how would any of us achieve great things? especially without an element of fear. You must reinforce yourself with positive thoughts, even if at first you don’t believe yourself. Keep focussed on the light at the end. Sounds cliché, but it’s the truth. xx

  2. Do something else creative. Paint something completely unrelated to the problem at hand, get lost in it for a couple of hours and give your mind the opportunity to relax and the freedom of unrestrained and unfocused creativity.

  3. There’s a couple of things that I do. First of all I stop fighting it and as Amelia Carew has said above…I accept that something “bad” has happened. It’s happened..rt? You can’t change that. Which is fine. The only thing that matters (as you pointed out) is your reaction. I try and look at the problem logically and see what the best way forward is..and try and do it.
    Actually do it. Don’t say to yourself…ah that’s hard..I can’t because…

    Try and analyze the problem..write it down or talk it out ..and write down only the true facts of the problem you’re going through. I’m not telling you to neglect your emotions..but if you want to solve it.. it’s possibly best to stick to the facts. There’ll be time to crib a bit later if you want to..to someone close.

    For now..don’t go down the ‘why me’ route or think of anything in the past. The future’s in front of you..try and control that. Once you look forward and see that life is still fun .. you’ll be okay.

    Don’t though under any circumstances…talk yourself into thinking ‘Oh it’s not that bad’. Say instead..’Sure it’s bad..and I’d rather it didn’t happen’.. but I’m going to change that now.

    If you’d like to talk more about it..you could write in a bit more detail or drop me an Email. Helps at times to talk to a faceless guy who doesn’t know you and will tell you the unadulterated truth :). Or not me.. but someone who can tell you the truth about yourself. I’ve found that helps too.

    • Thanks Arvind! I just might do that. I’m currently doing a reading on Japanese Tea House architecture for class but when I take a break later tonight, I’ll tell you in more detail what is going on… it might help to give me a broader insight into what exactly is wrong!! Do i have your email address? Can you email littlemisscurious1982@gmail.com just in case so that I have something from you to reply to?

      Cheers,

      L

  4. Catch up with people you’re close to, friends, real friends, not family members or work colleagues,
    someone you chose to love and them you… No doubt if you have friends anything like mine you will soon be reminded of how wonderful they are and how much you love and respect their thoughts and opinions… Then (and this is the key) think about why they chose to be friends with you?
    Would these wonderful people be wasting time on someone undeserving?
    Of course not…The long answer should lift your confidence and spirits, It always does mine!!

    As to how to get re-inspired well… I believe…
    1. You can’t plan an inspired life, you have to live it and
    2. There’s a big difference between getting things done and feeling complete.
    What Arvind said above goes same for me, if you want to talk you can drop me an Email.

    Hope this helps.

    • Thanks Meg, that’s lovely and no doubt it will help… 🙂 we had a few laughs today and bonded over shared stress but sometimes getting away from all of it and taking stock is what is needed!!

      • Absolutely… Getting away is great, would be even better if you could leave some parts of your brain at home though!?!?

I love feedback so you know what to do...

