The Things Money Can’t Buy…

The last 48 hours have been busy ones for me. For starters, I have not yet been to bed because we had an assignment due tonight and we have an oral presentation in the morning. As in 5 hours from now. As in, I can’t sleep because I get so nervous when I have to talk in front of people. All my confidence goes out the window. But I digress.

I finished my assignment at around 4:30pm then went in to give L a hand and get my assignment printed… $38 for 2 x A1 sheets… I’m really in the wrong line of work. After dropping L off, I got a text from one of the guys from uni saying he was struggling so I offered to come around and help. And he took the offer up, which I was happy about because exhausted as I am, I needed to be around J and A because they unfailingly make me smile. They’re like grown-up boys but they’re hilarious. The assignment was due in via online submission at 11:59pm and, as the result of a collaborative effort, we got it in at 11:58 and 16 seconds. A small miracle. I could tell J was very stressed which is a little unlike him but I guess the point of this somewhat rambling story is that inspiration can come from the strangest places. I feel really lucky to have met 2 guys (my own age) who I can joke with but who I feel safe with and who are 2 very creative people in their own right …(although one of them doesn’t believe it about himself yet). I’m working on that.

Bottom line… They’ll never know how much, even in that stressed out, panicky atmosphere, just being able to be myself around them means to me. I care about both of them a lot and that’s why my heart constricts every time there is a joke about them pulling the pin on their studies. I can’t image life now without our version of the Gruppo 7… although with us it’s the Gruppo 3 (or tre, if we’re being completely authentic)… We’re all young(ish) architecture students, wanting to change the status quo, horribly dissatisfied with our education… Haha. The whole story fits. Except for the whole ‘dictator’ and ‘meddling rival faction.

But I have a feeling that we all completely understand where the others are at, even if it remains unspoken. I’m under an incredible amount of pressure from several spheres of my life and several people in my life right now so I take joy and happiness where I can get it. And being able to help a friend who is always so generous to me made me realise how lucky I am to be surrounded by such good people.

So with that thought, i will aim for 3 hours sleep and cross my fingers I don’t go to pieces in front of everyone in a few hours šŸ˜‰

Xx

I love feedback so you know what to do...

