The Pressure Is Mounting…

Mmhmm. It’s on. We all felt this semester was lulling us into a false sense of security and now that security has been obliterated. Standard, really, when you think about it…

I’m lying in bed enjoying probably the last decent night of sleep I will get for at least a fortnight, questioning again whether or not I’m too old for this! I think every time this happens I lose another year or two off my expected life span. My older mates at uni say I’m masochistic.

I concur.

But what I really want to do is say to all the people who read this from uni: you guys are going to be absolutely fine.

I know a number of you are stressed out, depressed and practically ready to leap off tall – but architecturally brilliant – buildings (as am I, you’re not alone!!) but you need to stop for a long moment…. Breathe…. And realise that this is just university. If you blow one crit or don’t hand something in one week, it’s not the end of the world.

We need to regain some perspective and realise that we cannot be good at everything, every moment of every day for your entire life. Shit happens. Cars break down, relationships break up, your laptop goes to… well, wherever laptops go to die. The point is to just do the best you can and to know when you’re just spinning your wheels and not achieving anything.

When that happens, get up. Walk away from it. Have a nanna nap. Eat something. Go for a run. Meditate. Or, like me, hide in your bedroom so you don’t lose it in front of other people. haha. Only you will know what works for you but you need coping strategies… It’s a long and brutal degree. This is only the second year out of five.

And the last and best option… talk to someone who gets it. People outside the course don’t understand that this isn’t like other degrees or courses. We’re all here to support one another (equally, one would hope)… I get crazy too. I get tired, overwhelmed, insanely stressed… it makes me do the Jekyll/Hyde thing. But the bottom line is that we all have support and we’re all going to make it.

So this is hell week… But there’s always Friday beers to ease the pain.

Chin up, everyone! We’re all amazing.

Xx

I love feedback so you know what to do...

