To Kill A Mockingbird On Valentine’s Day…

… T.K.A.M. was the movie that was playing on TCM as I worked tonight. I think it was about 12:30am (or around then) that I found myself getting drawn back into this movie that I love so much. I was channel surfing away and there it was. As much as the movie is wonderful and Gregory Peck is dashing, humble, learned and stoic all at the same time, nothing beats the book. I know not everyone will agree because it’s a book that is force-fed to Year 11 students for their English Studies… slowly and painfully analysed until you want to have a ritual burning of the book following your last exam or essay.

But if you take it as it is, the lessons that can be learnt from it are as real today as they were when Harper Lee published her book in 1960. My two favourite quotes from the story are these:

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

And

“Atticus said to Jem one day, “I’d rather you shot at tin cans in the backyard, but I know you’ll go after birds. Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” That was the only time I ever heard Atticus say it was a sin to do something, and I asked Miss Maudie about it. “Your father’s right,” she said. “Mockingbirds don’t do one thing except make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”

There are lots and lots of other beautiful quotes but these two really resonate for me. Quote 1 is how I try to approach my relationships with people. Quote 2 and the day people stop “killing mockingbirds” is something I fear I may only ever dream of… I don’t think I’ll see that reality in my lifetime. Not cynical, just being a Realist.

Watching the film also reminded me of how much I love black and white films and the romance of it all… Which in turn reminded me of how I’m still not putting myself first and taking time to enjoy these simple pleasures. No gold star for me this week!

Speaking of simple pleasures, I promised myself I would buy this for myself when I reached a couple of my short term goals and I think that time is nearly here! Unfortunately, I’m still essentially broke despite working my entire vacation. Sigh.

20130214-023718.jpg

But I will get there and I know this gorgeous brooch will be waiting for me on Etsy when I do. If you have never read TKAM, please go to your local library and borrow it out. It will be worth your while.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone 🙂

xx

I love feedback so you know what to do...

